Making the most out of the good days, coping with the bad days

Me again!

Did you all have a nice weekend? I hope so 🙂

Today I want to share with you a little technique that I learned that helps me to cope with the bad days. You know, the days when you just want to give up. The days when getting out of bed seems like such an effort, let alone getting dressed. And if you’re like me, you’ll then not only been feeling like crap because it’s one of those days where you don’t want to be here, but you’re also sitting there feeling like you’re wasting the day, or you’re a failure.

Well you’re not. I promise.

There’s nothing wrong with having bad days. We need them to realise and appreciate the good days when they come around. The bad days aren’t a punishment, or a test that you’re failing. They’re just a bad day.

When my mum got diagnosed with a terminal illness, the whole world came crashing down. I went from this super strong and lively girl to someone who literally cried 10 times a day. I couldn’t even tell you why I was crying half the time. I just couldn’t cope.I started to feel like all my dreams were slipping away whilst I was feeling sorry for myself, and that I was letting my mum down because i wasn’t doing all the things she couldn’t do anymore.

So I wrote down 2 lists. (yes I love a good list) I wrote a list of all the things I wanted to accomplish in life when I was having a good day. These are the big things on my bucket list, or the things that mean leaving the house and facing the world.

Then I wrote down all the things I really love to do, that make me feel better when I’m feeling poop. I’m talking about the soppy disney films you love to watch, the romance novels, the hot chocolate you love to drink when cuddled up in bed with your pets. Write them all down…and when you’re having a bad day, treat yourself to those things. Don’t punish yourself for being sad. It’s natural and we all need to feel it.

So, on a bad day, lock your front door, get into your favourite pjs and have a you day. Eat all the comfort food in the world, and watch all the cheesy things you like to watch when no one else is around. Take a thousand naps if you want to. Give yourself a day off. Because if you’re feeling that low, it’s your mind telling you I’ve had enough and I need a break. So reward your hard work at staying positive for as long as you have, and let yourself have a wind down.

It’s not a failure. And I promise the next day will feel slightly easier ❤

 

I hope this helps my lovelies. I’m glad I got to share a little bit of my story with you today, and I’m always here to listen if any of you are having a bad day and need to talk.

Message me and let me know what you think of my post, and if you need an ear, I’m here

Much Love

Eirlys x

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

